About CC Search

CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.

CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.

Currently CC Search only searches images, but we plan to add additional media types such as open texts and audio, with the ultimate goal of providing access to all 1.4 billion CC licensed and public domain works on the web. Learn more about CC’s 2019 vision, strategy and roadmap for CC Search and see what we’re currently working on. All of our code is open source (CC Search, CC Catalog API, CC Catalog) and we welcome community contribution.

Please note that CC does not verify whether the images are properly CC licensed, or whether the attribution and other licensing information we have aggregated is accurate or complete. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content. For more details, read the CC Terms of Use.

Looking for the old CC Search portal? Visit https://oldsearch.creativecommons.org.

Sources

Source Domain # CC Licensed Works
Animal Diversity Web https://animaldiversity.org 15,554
Bēhance https://www.behance.net 6,479,672
Brooklyn Museum https://www.brooklynmuseum.org 61,503
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon http://capl.washjeff.edu 15,142
Cleveland Museum of Art http://www.clevelandart.org 32,285
DeviantArt https://www.deviantart.com 271,362
Digitalt Museum https://digitaltmuseum.no 266,672
Flickr https://www.flickr.com 314,977,005
Flora-On https://flora-on.pt 55,010
Geograph Britain and Ireland https://www.geograph.org.uk 1,244,387
McCord Museum http://www.musee-mccord.qc.ca/en 218,720
Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org 488,400
Museums Victoria https://museumsvictoria.com.au 85,575
PhyloPic http://phylopic.org 3,422
Rawpixel https://www.rawpixel.com 63,150
Rijksmuseum https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en 29,999
SVG Silh https://svgsilh.com 276,966
Thingiverse https://www.thingiverse.com 29,461
Thorvaldsens Museum http://www.thorvaldsensmuseum.dk 8,912
World Register of Marine Species http://www.marinespecies.org 23,716