About CC Search

CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.

CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.

Currently CC Search only searches images, but we plan to add additional media types such as open texts and audio, with the ultimate goal of providing access to all 1.4 billion CC licensed and public domain works on the web. Learn more about CC’s 2019 vision, strategy and roadmap for CC Search and see what we’re currently working on. All of our code is open source (CC Search, CC Catalog API, CC Catalog) and we welcome community contribution.

Please note that CC does not verify whether the images are properly CC licensed, or whether the attribution and other licensing information we have aggregated is accurate or complete. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content. For more details, read the CC Terms of Use.

Looking for the old CC Search portal? Visit https://oldsearch.creativecommons.org.

Sources

Source Domain # CC Licensed Works
Animal Diversity Web https://animaldiversity.org 15,554
Biodiversity Heritage Library https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/ 203,066
Brooklyn Museum https://www.brooklynmuseum.org 61,503
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon http://capl.washjeff.edu 15,143
Cleveland Museum of Art http://www.clevelandart.org 32,858
DeviantArt https://www.deviantart.com 239,000
Digitalt Museum https://digitaltmuseum.no 289,769
Europeana https://www.europeana.eu 844,615
Flickr https://www.flickr.com 491,050,518
Flora-On https://flora-on.pt 55,010
Geograph Britain and Ireland https://www.geograph.org.uk 1,090,120
McCord Museum http://www.musee-mccord.qc.ca/en 110,075
Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org 109,106
NASA https://www.nasa.gov/ 113,966
PhyloPic http://phylopic.org 3,796
Rawpixel https://www.rawpixel.com 23,896
Rijksmuseum https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en 29,999
Science Museum – UK https://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk 62,503
Sketchfab https://sketchfab.com 37,902
Smithsonian Institution https://si.edu 2,846,556
SpaceX https://spacex.com 850
SVG Silh https://svgsilh.com 358,943
Thingiverse https://www.thingiverse.com 32,395
Thorvaldsens Museum http://www.thorvaldsensmuseum.dk 9,052
Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org 37,820,575
World Register of Marine Species http://www.marinespecies.org 19,783